• EBS Best Paper Award 2020 – Honoring outstanding scientific papers

    14. August 2020

    EBS University annually honors outstanding scientific papers with high practical relevance on Innovation, (Corporate) Entrepreneurship and Transformation with the EBS BEST PAPER AWARD 2020. By focusing on both cutting-edge research and practical implications, the awarded papers provide state-of-the-art insights for academics and practitioners equally.

    The award is endowed with prize money totaling € 3,500 (1st prize: € 1,500; 2nd prize: € 1,250; 3rd prize: € 750)

    Selection Procedure:

    Papers submitted must have been published or accepted for publication in a scientific journal after July 1st, 2019, and must not have been submitted to past EBS Best Paper Awards. Submissions are assessed by the jury with regards to scientific excellence and practical relevance. The authors of the three most outstanding papers are invited to present their work on November 17th, 2020 at the Sektkellerei Henkell, in Wiesbaden, Germany. Part of the travel expenses will be reimbursed by EBS University. Evaluating both presentation and discussion, the jury will nominate the winner.

    Submission deadline for papers: September 1st, 2020

    How to Participate? The application form can be downloaded here: www.bestpaperaward.de. The application form, the paper as well as a short CV of all authors can be submitted via e-mail to submission@bestpaperaward.de

    Jury Members: Stéphane Bonutto (Oerlikon), Dr. Andreas Brokemper (Henkell & Co. Sektkellerei KG), Dr. Mike Dietrich (Oerlikon), Prof. Dr. Katrin Burmeister-Lamp (EBS University), Prof. Dr. Christian Landau (EBS University), Marc Launer (Boeing), Prof. Dr. Matthias Waldkirch (EBS University), Prof. Dr. Christof Schimank (Horváth & Partners & EBS University), Prof. Dr. Tobias Gutmann (EBS University), Prof. Dr. Christoph Fuchs (Siemens & EBS University)

    Last years’ finalists: Holmer Kok (Stockholm School of Economics), Dries Faems (WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management) and Pedro De Faria (University of Groningen) won the first prize with their article „Dusting Off the Knowledge Shelves: Recombinant Lag and the Technological Value of Inventions“, which appeared in the „Journal of Management“.

    Second place went to Nina Rosenbusch (Wilfried Laurier University), Michael Gusenbauer (Johannes Kepler University Linz), Isabella Hatak (University of St. Gallen), Matthias Fink (Ivey Business School) and Klaus E. Meyer (Ivey Business School) for their comments on the effectiveness and context of innovation offshoring. Their article „Innovaton Offshoring, Institutional Context and Innovation Performance: A Meta-Analysis“, which was also published in the „Journal of Management“.

    The third prize of the evening was awarded to Alexander Brem and Verena Utikal (both Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg) for their article „How to manage creativity time? Results from a social psychological time model lab experiment on individual creative and routine performance“, which appeared in the “Creativity and Innovation Management Journal”.